New Places to get Sunburn

I am ridiculously fair.  And by fair I mean lacking in skin color.  In high school biology sophmore year, when the first period class discussed albinos, I was used as an example by a girl I knew.  The teacher assured that  class and subsquent classes throughout the day that I was not an albino.  Some people were not convinced.  When I entered the classroom for the last period of the day, the teacher took one look at me and started laughing.  By that time both of us were tired of the issue. 

This lack of pigmentation has led me over the years to become more and more rigourous with applying sunscreen to avoid sunburn.  But the sun is relentless and I end being sunburnt in odder and more random places like the base of my neck on only one side; a dime size area on the back of my left knee; and so on.  However, I have now been sunburnt on the oddest place ever, my eyelids.  This seems to have occurred because I was wearing my regular glasses for a few days, instead of the usual contact lenses and sunglasses combo. 

My eyelids turned a bright pink color, not unlike my usual eye make-up, and became sore.  At first I thought it was a skin irritation and chucked all my eye make-up.   Then the real fun started as the peeling began.  Because the skin was so delicate to the touch I could not put in my contacts.    I also could not put anything on the skin because it just increased the burning feeling.  Little pieces of skin got into my eyes, got caught on my glasses and stuck onto my face.  Up close I looked like I had some crazy sort of molting disease.  After the initial peeling subsided I was able to put an eye cream on to soothe the pain.  Unfortunately eye lid skin is not the most absorbent and I end up with a weird greasey look.  And bits of flaking skin stay stuck to my eyelids. 

Today my Mom stopped by.  I had told her what was happening but she clearly misunderstood because she said to me, “I told your father your eye lashes got sunburnt and are falling out.  He wouldn’t believe me.” 

“He shouldn’t believe you!  My eyelids got burnt, not my eye lashes.”   She then took a good look at my eyelids and was visibly disgusted.   I think I need to research if there is eye shadow that contains sunscreen.

2 Responses to “New Places to get Sunburn”

  1. Toni in Florida Says:

    My mom once got sunburned in a diamond pattern (approx 3 inches tall) on the skin between her belly button and her bra. She was wearing a front-button shirt while out fishing and the shirt gaped open long enough to “fry” that part of her tummy. Yikes, right?

    My worst burn was on my, um, crumpets. I was in wench garb, playing Cupcake in our city’s annual med faire, and worked in/out of the February sunshine (here in north Florida) for a couple of hours (that’s it, I swear) on the first day of said faire. Apparently I had not put sufficiently strong sunscreen on my, um, crumpets. The result? My, um, crumpets were untouchably, unclothably (not a word, but ought to be), unbelievably fried. To the point that people who would perhaps normally have expressed some sort of mildly lascivious or playful commentary just offered sympathy and concern. A few felt the need to tell me I had gotten a bad sunburn, as if it might have escaped my notice somehow. Yeah, not likely.

    As you’ve probably guessed, I now coat myself in strong, new sunscreen from navel to the top of my head, front and back, before I venture out as Cupcake. Even if it is February and even if it’s threatening to rain or freezing cold. Better safe than fried, ya know?

  2. fairgirl Says:

    Aaaaahhh burned crumpets – the very thought of that pain makes me cringe. I completely agree that it is better safe than sorry.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

