Ruby’s Baby Blanket

IMG_0904

The first time I made a baby blanket it took so long that the child was old enough to knit for himself by the time I was done.  I swore I would never knit another.  Then one of my favorite cousins got pregnant.  She came for a visit early in her pregnancy and I resisted the urge to consider doing a baby blanket.  But as the pregnancy progressed I weakened.  During her last trimester I faltered and asked my Mom if we should knit a baby blanket together.  She thought it was a good idea.   

Hub had picked up Kris Percival’s knit knack kit last year in California for me and I decided to use the basket-weave baby blanket pattern.   It appealed to me because the blanket would look good on both sides andthe pattern was not too complicated.  For the yarn I used my favorite Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Worsted in the Child’s Play colorway.  It is just so cheeful that I cannot resist it for baby items.   

This was one project that really benefited from blocking.  Due to the texture of the basket-weave, the blanket looked a bit crunched up when it was done.  Once it was blocked, however, it relaxed into a smoother, more uniform texture  with lovely stitch definition.  Overall it was a good knit and looked so pretty that I wanted to keep it for myself as a lap blanket.  But I finally packed it up and mailed it off to Ireland.  Hopefully little Ruby is enjoying her new blanket.

And my Mom, she never got around to helping me with the knitting.

2 Responses to “Ruby’s Baby Blanket”

  1. Toni in Florida Says:

    Aaaaaawwwww! That is the sweetest thing ever!

  2. fairgirl Says:

    Thanks – that yarn makes everything special.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

