How I Lost My Knitting Mojo – Part I

2008_0207january20080010.jpg

Even though one of my favorite things to do is to give people I love knitted items, I have been oddly immune from the terror that is “Christmas Knitting Mania.”  For the Christmas that just passed I decided early in the fall to knit a few hats, a scarf, and some Fuzzy Feet felted slippers from Knitty as Christmas gifts. 

In particular, I wanted to knit my Hub a hat as I had never knitted him anything.  We went off to Patricia’s Yarns and he picked out some lovely masculine Rowan Coccoon.  My plan was to make hats for Hub, his brother, and a friend out of this yarn.  At one point I was somewhat delusional and wanted to make a hat for Hub’s Dad also.  I was busy envisioning a really nice picture of Hub, his brother, and Dad together in knitted hats.  Luckily Hub gently reminded me that his Dad spends much of the year in Florida and does not need a hat.

I really enjoy knitting hats and can crank them out.  I expected to have all the hats finished by the end of October.   Hub and I discussed what he wanted.  The hat was to have some ribbing with the rest in stockinette.  He also wanted a stripe.  Easy enough, or so I thought.  After I measured his head and did a gauge swatch I cast on 100 stitches and did the ribbing.  Hub tried the completed part on and advised that it needed to be just a little bit smaller with less ribbing.  So I frogged it and cast on 96 stitches to begin again.  I was almost done and Hub tried it on.  It was too big so I frogged back and began the  decreases earlier but when I ripped back and picked up the stitches I missed one so I ended up frogging back again.  Next thing I knew I was in the middle of a vicious cycle, I would be almost done with the hat when I would discover something wrong with it.  Parts of that hat were frogged so many times that I feared the yarn was going to felt from all the frogging.  Finally I just knit one of the hats intended to be a gift because I felt the need to just knit a hat and be done with it.  But it was too late, the knitting mojo was gone.  I kept knitting Hub’s hat and kept having to frog back because of some design issue or goofy mistake. 

From October to the end of December I became obsessed with knitting Hub the perfect hat.  In that time I knit a few small items but just could not enjoy the process like I usually do.  All my knitting energy was focused on finishing that hat.  It was finally completed to Hub’s  specifications on January 2nd.  Hub declared it perfect and I was both happy and relieved.  Immediately I cast on for the third hat intended as a gift.  I cast on 100 stitches  and overall intended to make it a little larger than Hub’s hat.  It was finished in two days.  I loved every stitch.  The mojo was back. 

Hub tried the hat on for me and, well, he liked it.  He liked it better than the hat I had make specifically for him.  He wanted to know if he could have that one instead.  Since my goal had always been to make him a hat he would love, I said “yes.”    

One Response to “How I Lost My Knitting Mojo – Part I”

  1. Javier Blanco Says:

    Your hub looks really guapo in that hat. I admit, I am not a knitter, nor a frogger, but I am a lover. I can’t wait for him to give me a belly rub in that hat.

Leave a Reply

