Felting Infatuation and the Fuzzy Feet


Felted Swatch
Originally uploaded by fairgirlBefore I cast on for my first pair of Fuzzy Feet I, of course, knit a gauge swatch and felted it. It took three washes to get the swatch suitably felted. Now I can see why people are so into felting – it is a little like magic.  Into the machine goes a floppy swatch and out comes a fuzzy piece of fabric.

I particularly like the how the color of the yarn became more lush after felting. I must admit that I have been so charmed by the felted swatch that it has been roaming around my house so I can admire it in the course of my day. The picture does not do the color justice. The yarn is Lamb’s Pride Worsted in Mulberry.

After the successful swatch experiment I cast on for the first pair of Fuzzy Feet. However, once I realized that my beloved SIL would not be visiting this month, the pressure to complete the pair of Fuzzy Feet was off and progress stalled.

Actually progress also stalled because the first slipper is turning out funny looking. So funny looking in fact that I am too embarrassed to post a picture. On the other hand, it should be noted that since this is the first “sock” I have ever knitted (if you do not count little baby booties) and I am not exactly sure what it is supposed to look like.

Part of the intent of this blog is to chronicle various knitting “firsts” for me. Admittedly I did expect these firsts to be a little more successful.

 

One Response to “Felting Infatuation and the Fuzzy Feet”

  1. Toni Says:

    It is a pretty swatch. I love the color as it shows up on my monitor. Of course, our monitors are not calibrated to each other, so who knows how accurate it is! Just one of the things we have to “take on faith” with computers, huh?

    Welcome to the bloggy world!

Leave a Reply

