Fixing the Toilet and Spit Splicing Yarn, But Not at the Same Time

One morning last week my Dad called to tell me that his toilet “kept running.”  It was noisy and wasting water – things my Dad cannot stand.  He is a crusty blue-collar kind of guy and I know sometimes he wonders what I learned during all those years of college and law school.  Secretly he hopes I took classes with titles like “Introduction to Plumbing,” “How to Fix Small Appliances” and “The Meaning of All Those Fees on Your Telephone Bill.”  Unfortunately,  while such classes would have been useful, they were not offered. 

In the past Dad has been known to tell me, “you’re good at fixing things,”  usually after he has lost patience with something and right before he throws it out a window.  Actually, I am decent at reading directions and trying to understand them.  Dad has no time for directions.  I don’t mind him passing the buck to me sometimes because he always helps us out when he can. 

Fortunately, Hub had recently fixed the same problem with our  toilet.  The packaging of the parts was still around so I pulled that out and told Dad what Hub had bought.  Then I did the sensible thing and called Hub as he knows about these things.  Hub and Dad talked and it was arranged that we would go over to their house that evening to take care of the toilet.  Dad walked over to get the needed parts from the local plumbing supply place [no big box home improvement store for Dad as he prefers to support his local merchants -go Dad!].   

That evening we got a good steak dinner and the toilet was fixed.  And yes, in that order.  Hub likes to work alone but at one point I was jammed in the small bathroom with my parents as Hub found himself giving a brief seminar on the care and repair of toilets.  I love that he knows this stuff. 

During the evening, when I wasn’t eating steak or admiring the quiet newly repaired toilet, I was working on the second Fuzzy Feet (foot?) slipper.  I finished the cuff, worked on the heel and stopped when I was about to start to turn the heel.  Later that night an unsettling thought hit me.  I had forgotten to change colors!!!  Considering that I had both skeins with me and my Mom looked at them, this was quite a goof. 

 My Fuzzy Feet Kit

When I was deciding whether to knit Fuzzy Feet I, of course, looked at all the completed pairs on Ravelry.  Such an excellent resource!  I was particularly attracted to pairs in which the cuff was done in one color and then the foot in another.  This is how I had done the first slipper and it is cute.  So now I had to rip back.  When I showed it to Hub he was sympathetic.  He also makes stuff so he knows what it is like when things do not go the way they are supposed to.  Actually, I was not too upset about having to redo the heel and then a good thing came out of it.  I realized that when changing colors I should spit splice the two yarns to avoid weaving in ends.  The podcast, Stash and Burn introduced me to the idea of spit splicing and it is one of my favorite techniques.   

The next day while speeding down a highway I spliced the yarn [no I was not driving but if I could do both at the same time successfully that would be impressive].  I used my little snips that Hub gave me and cut the yarns.  Then I wet the ends in water I had poured into the lid of a small water bottle and rubbed the pieces against my denim skirt [when dressing it can be helpful to dress in such a way that is useful for that day’s knitting].  I have only used spit once when splicing and it did not work out very well.  At home I prefer to use the hottest water I can get from my tap. 

Excellent Little Snips
 

Once the splice was completed I briefly admired it and then started work again.  I hope to finish the slipper tomorrow.

3 Responses to “Fixing the Toilet and Spit Splicing Yarn, But Not at the Same Time”

  1. Tina Russell Says:

    I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

    Tina Russell

  2. Toni in Florida Says:

    When I read this post’s title, my first thought was, “Oh, thank goodness!” I just couldn’t figure out how yarn would help you fix the john, no matter what technique you used on it.

  3. GardenerX Says:

    Took me a while to figure out what a “Hub” was. Go K.

    I actually knew what a “UFO” was in one of your older posts though. Go Kim.

Leave a Reply

