How do we wrap a Cradle???

Well my SIL’s baby shower is on Sunday.  I had previously mentioned that Hub was working on a special gift.  As you should have figured out from the title – he made an awesome cradle!  Go Hub!

Cradle

This is a picture of it almost done.  Hub did some more finishing on it after I took the picture. 

It is made out of cherry and he has been hard at work on it for weeks.  It has been really interesting to see it go from a bunch of boards to an actual cradle.  From the picture I think you can see that the headboard and footboard each angle out.  The sides also angle out.  The idea of getting that all to fit together would give me a headache, like a seaming an Aran sweater sort of headache.   But Hub’s take on it,”Fitting the angles on the back was the worst part.” 

Hub’s workshop has been a hive of activity as people have been popping in to check on his progress with the cradle.  The most ardent fan has been my Dad.  And let’s face it – the man knows cradles.  He is, after all, one of 17 (yes, 17) children and when he was growing up babies went into cradles as cribs were unheard of.    My parents went away last week.  On Monday when they came back to town their first stop was Hub’s workshop.  When I opened the door Dad almost ran over me in his eagerness to check on the progress. 

Anyway, the shower is on Sunday.  With the cradle we are including a mattress, mattress pad, sheets, a bumper, and hopefully a completed Five Hour Baby Sweater[ I am still working on that :)].  I plan on arranging all of that stuff nicely in the cradle but then what?  If I was giving this to anyone other than my SIL I would ask her how I should “wrap” this.  She is good with this kind of thing.  I am not.  But since it is for her I obviously cannot ask her.  So should I just stick a bow on top?  It is way too big for a box.  Should I cover it with fabric and a bow so she can sort of “open” it at the shower?  Any suggestions?  If so please leave them in the comments or email me at fairgirlknitsatexcitedotcom. 

4 Responses to “How do we wrap a Cradle???”

  1. GardnerX Says:

    Very sharp. I especially like the “feet” on the end of each rocker to prevent a roll over. Nice work.

  2. Toni Says:

    How about a great big cellophane bow wrapped around the top?

  3. fairgirl Says:

    Any suggestions on where I get a big cellphane bow? Michael’s may be? Thanks!

  4. Deborah Says:

    does your hubby give lessons to other hubbys who don’t know how to hold a hammer?? That cradle is gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

