I have given up on Monogamy

Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man

No, not that kind of monogamy, knitting monogamy.  Previously I was the sort of knitter who only worked on one project at a time.  I think this came from some sort of work ethic my parents instilled in me.  But since most of my knitting is done in public this really limited what I could knit.  Then on one of the Knit Picks podcasts, Kelly Petkun talked about the number of different projects she had on the needles and the reasons behind having different projects.  I realized that it really made sense for me to always have a portable project to stuff in my bag as I ran out the door so I could maximize my knitting time.  Anyway, right now I am blocking a small item (I will talk about that another time) and have on the needles another pair of Fuzzy Feet, the second Five Hour Baby Sweater, and the Bulletproof poncho.   

I think I should mention that I really enjoy the Knit Picks podcasts.  Initially I resisted because I feared the podcasts would be all about peddling the knit picks products.  However, Kelly knows her stuff.  In my fantasy life Kelly is my knitting expert auntie .  The knitting on a budget episode is a really solid and helpful episode.

One Response to “I have given up on Monogamy”

  1. Carol Says:

    Yup, I have to have a simple project on the go for those times when I need soothing knitting time. The fancier knitting is fun, but when is starts to go pear shaped…simpler is better!

Leave a Reply

