Another Reason Why I Am Not Much of a Yarn Stasher…

Bulletproof Poncho

Yes, I know this post would be better with pictures, but the camera and computer are still not on talking terms. [As of 10/22/08 the camera and computer are now communicating so I have added a picture.]

The front of the “So Many Ponchos, So Little Time Poncho” (a.k.a. the bulletproof poncho) from The Yarn Girls’ Guide to Beyond the Basics is now done.  I am using Tahki Yarns Baby, which is a lovely yarn but a little too warm for me to work on in the heat of the summer.  Now that the weather is a little cooler, it was time to pick this up again.

Once I was done with the front I realized that I do not have enough yarn to finish the back.  Actually, I was amazed at how the front part just seemed to suck up the yarn.  This is the first time I have ever used a Tahki yarn and I am hoping the fact that I cannot find additional yarn in the same dye lot will not matter.  Of course, had I knit up this yarn not long after getting it I would have realized the problem and could have probably gotten yarn in the same dye lot.  Drats! 

I am also concerned that this is just not going to fit right.  The front and back parts are knit separately and then seamed together.  Each part starts at the bottom with two stitches and then you increase until you reach the maximum width and then decrease until you have twenty stitches.  It looks like a stingray.  I am worried that it is not going to fit me in the shoulders.  I checked for errors for the book and none were indicated for this pattern.  I checked ravelry and it seems that no one there has knit the pattern.  So at this point I am just going to trust the pattern.  If it turns out it does not fit right then I will just cross that bridge when I come to it. 

Other than the lack of yarn and fit concerns, I am loving this pattern and yarn.  Right now I have the completed front draped across a chair in the dining room.  I keep pausing to fondle it when I walk by.  It is a quick and easy knit.  It was silly of me to have been nervous about knitting this up.  The cable has a lovely sculptural quality that really suits the super chunky yarn.  The pattern calls for Karabella Brushed Alpaca but the Takhi Baby is a great substitution. The yarn both feels fabulous and looks great.  I would love to adjust the pattern to make this into a throw but it would be a ridiculously expensive throw.

Leave a Reply

