Fixing Fetching

Fetching Before Felting

The other day as I walked to the grocery store I thought to myself, “I need a pair of fingerless mitts for when my hands are chilly but gloves or mittens would be overkill.”  I am a woman with cold, cold hands.  My Mom always says, “Cold hands, warm heart.”  But Hub sometimes complains to me, ” You only want to hold my hand so you can warm up yours.”  That’s not true.  Well, not true most of the time. 

I do have a pair of fingerless mitts.  Awhile back I knit myself a pair of Fetching.  It is a lovely pattern and a quick knit.  Unfortunately in my fervor to knit them up I did not take into account the fact that they would end up too big.  So big in fact that they kept falling off my hands and I stopped wearing them. 

Now Hub may not knit, but he certainly pays attention.  He suggested I do a little felting.  And I did. 

In the felting process the lovely detailing was lost.  But now I have super warm and comfortable fingerless mitts.  I ran them through the washing machine cycle once.  They were just damp when they came out so I put them on and shaped them to my hands. Now they have a nice snug fit.

October - November 2008 010

2 Responses to “Fixing Fetching”

  1. Scott Says:

    That Hub certainly is an observant fellow.

  2. Bijou Frise Says:

    Good reuse.

Leave a Reply

