Ulysses!?!

My cousin told us the other day that there is a rumor in the family that the names of my Dad and all his brothers are from James Joyce’s Ulysses.   His sisters are all named for saints.  I thought all of them, brothers and sisters, were named after saints. 

I have flirted with Ulysses but must admit that I have never muscled my way to the end.  May be it is time I did because from the bits and pieces I have read I do vaguely recall my Dad’s name and the names of two of his brothers being in there.  This has inspired me to actually read the whole thing.  I will have to dig out a battered copy from my basement.  Inspiration can come in weird ways. 

Just for good measure, I should note that neither my Dad, nor any of my uncles are named Leopold or Stephen.

Leave a Reply

