Salted

Mom modeling the purple rolled brim hat

Mom modeling the purple rolled brim hat

The other day while I was waiting to cross the street I got salted.  There was a truck salting the street and as it turned the corner, I was pelted with salt.   It was snowing heavily at the time and I did not realize that the truck was going to turn the corner.  That salt flew everywhere.  In case you are wondering, it really does taste salty.  I thought it would have more of a chemical taste.

Anyway, at the time I was wearing my purple rolled brim hat.  Last winter I cranked the hat out in a day using the hat recipe from Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s Knitting Rules.  It is very cozy and floppy.   I love it because it is warm but does not crush my hair enough to give me a bad case of hat hair, just a little smooshed hair. 

Last year I got teased a bit about my purple floppy hat.  Of all my knitted items, it was sort of an underdog.  It did not even get added to my Ravelry projects page until recently.  This year we have had a lot more snow and it is a different story.  Because of the weather, lately hat wearing is at an all time high here.  Suddenly, this hat seems a lot more attractive and even my Mom wants to knit one.  The purple hat finally has its day.

2 Responses to “Salted”

  1. Toni in Florida Says:

    It’s very cute… and the very best color in the world, too. (Not that I have any strong opinions about that kind of thing.)

  2. fairgirl Says:

    I do not know what it is about purple yarn. In my regular life I am not into the color purple, but when it comes to yarn I am drawn to purple.

Leave a Reply

